Skip navigation


Perhaps you associate the words “mince pie” with those tarts served at office “Holiday” parties, the ones that taste like “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” sounds. Well, from what I can tell, those gooey little abominations are at best distantly related to the hot mince pie of our forefathers. What that tasted like I don’t yet know, but above are some representative period recipes. I’m going to test one or two of these out as soon as I find out what suet is and where to get it.

8 Comments

  1. I can’t wait!

    • Of course, I’ll be putting my health and sanity on the line with these experiments. But we sneer at danger here at The Hope Chest.

  2. You can usually get suet where birdseed supplies are sold, or ask at the meat section of your closest big-box grocery store. It’s not an unusual request, people use suet for feeding birds. Sometimes I’ll see it in a package in the meat section. Good luck.

    • Thanks, Jeans. And this stuff is “heart-smart,” right?

    • Mary, Queen of Scots
    • Posted August 5, 2009 at 4:38 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    To the extent that the fat of animals is good for your heart, suet is *amazing*.

    • Just as I thought: A great source of Omega-3 that “they” don’t want you to know about.

  3. I’m guessing that you refer to mincemeat tarts , which I would assert are sometimes good as long as they are served with ice cream.Question to ask : why don’t mincemeat tarts have meat in ’em , but mince pie HAS fuckin’meat !? Also I dunno if anyone else actually read the recipes , but the third one claims “A mince pie is good as long as it lasts.”This strikes me as either a very safe claim to make if you define “lasting” in the modern , sorta best-before kinda way.Or it could be interpreted as a much bolder claim , more like “wherever mince pie exists , it is good.”

    • I’m strictly talking about your store-bought jobs, at the office parties. They puke up real good on a rising tide of eggnog.


Leave a Reply

