Skip navigation

graveSan Francisco Chronicle, January 29, 1895. People piss and moan about the current decline of customer service, but the Gilded Age had its own deficiencies on this score.grave2


  1. I’m starting to think I need to start drawing comic strips to accompany some of these.

    • That would be so amazingly awesome. Please do it!

      Also, of all the depressing news items I’ve seen here, this one really made me ponder my mortality. I would be dead several times over if it weren’t for antibiotics. I can remember a classmate in elementary school not believing me when I said I’d had pneumonia, because she thought people always died when they had pneumonia.

        • mrparallel
        • Posted July 29, 2009 at 8:35 pm
        • Permalink

        I hope you’re not checking out any time soon, mind.

    • Bring it on!!

      I wish I could draw. My 5-year-old has better graphic skills than I do.

  2. See, back then conflicts were properly settled with fisticuffs and bludgeonings. Nowadays its all lawsuits and cash payoffs. What happened to American masculinity?

    • there was a time when you could act out like that and not face a lengthy prison sentence.

    • “First we kill all the lawyers.” –Wm Shakespeare

  3. Don’t get me started with lawyer jokes. My uncle is a lawyer, so I’ve heard all the worst ones. ;)

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

