Skip navigation

Miami Herald, August 29, 1914. That, my friends, is a world-historically beautiful opening sentence, belonging in the company of “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. . .,” “Happy families are all alike. . .,” “It is a truth universally acknowledged. . . ,” and “A couple of days later the phone rang.”
Man alive, what did it take to get divorced in New Jersey?
In Mr. Weissenborn’s defense, the conversion of one’s wife to Christian Science seems like a legitimate reason for heavy drinking. But nothing justifies force-feedings of mince pie, whether nocturnal or diurnal.
Thanks to Jackie of Finland for pointing out that I’d made a redundant post (since deleted). I’m way too distracted with my mince pie opus to blog competently right now. At very least, I should stick to mince-related posts until the dust has cleared off the crater.

2 Comments

  1. You’re welcome, although I kind of liked your new commentary on the duplicate post.

    Also, I seem to have earned a nickname. :) Why is Tom of Finland the first thing that comes to mind when I read the words “of Finland”?

    • Why is Tom of Finland the first thing that comes to mind when I read the words “of Finland”?

      I am so busted.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

